Populate Groups Using Group Rules

Course 2 of 5 in Organize Users with Groups

This course covers how to create group rules to assign users to groups and ensure they have access to the right applications without manual intervention.

rate limit

Code not recognized.

About this course

Course snapshot

Course summary

With group rules, you can assign users to groups based on group membership or user attributes. If you use groups for application assignments, users will get access to the right applications when their group membership or user attributes change. This course provides administrators with the skills to create a group rule using a basic condition.

What skills does the course cover

  • Assign users to a group using a group rule.
  • Troubleshoot group membership issues.
  • Explain what happens when you deactivate, reactivate, or delete a group rule.

Common questions addressed in the course

When I create a group rule, what are the options for a basic condition?

Group membership, User attribute

What happens when I deactivate a group rule?

Okta stops evaluating the rule. Users who were already added to the group by the rule stay in it. Users who start matching the rule will not be added to the group. Users who no longer match the rule will not be removed.

About this course

Course snapshot

Course summary

With group rules, you can assign users to groups based on group membership or user attributes. If you use groups for application assignments, users will get access to the right applications when their group membership or user attributes change. This course provides administrators with the skills to create a group rule using a basic condition.

What skills does the course cover

  • Assign users to a group using a group rule.
  • Troubleshoot group membership issues.
  • Explain what happens when you deactivate, reactivate, or delete a group rule.

Common questions addressed in the course

When I create a group rule, what are the options for a basic condition?

Group membership, User attribute

What happens when I deactivate a group rule?

Okta stops evaluating the rule. Users who were already added to the group by the rule stay in it. Users who start matching the rule will not be added to the group. Users who no longer match the rule will not be removed.